Atlanta Press Club Announces 2017 Hall of Fame Inductees

Earlier this week, the Atlanta Press Club announced their 2017 Hall of Fame inductees. The APC Hall of Fame honors Georgia journalists of the past and present as well as celebrates the impact of quality journalism in our state and nation. Previous inductees include Monica Pearson, Tom Brokaw and Judy Woodruff. This year’s class includes two Pulitzer Prize winners, the first news director of WSB Radio and a beloved Atlanta sports anchor. The APC Hall of Fame dinner will take place on October 10th at 7 p.m. at the InterContinental Buckhead Hotel. Learn more about this year’s inductees below and reserve your tickets to the Hall of Fame dinner and ceremony here:

Doug Blackmon, former Atlanta Journal-Constitution reporter, former Wall Street Journal bureau chief and Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Slavery by Another Name: The Re-Enslavement of Black Americans from the Civil War to World War II.

Fred Kalil, long-time sports anchor, currently with CBS46 since 2015 and formerly with WXIA for 22 years.

Aubrey Morris, the first news director of WSB Radio and formerly a reporter with the Atlanta Journal and the Atlanta Constitution. He died in 2010 at age 88.

Cynthia Tucker, Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist for commentary and former editor of the editorial page for The Atlanta Journal-Constitution for 17 years.